top of page

Toasty Garlic & Sesame Green Beans

These green beans are an homage to my Aunt Amber, who would always make sesame green beans for the holidays. I always loved them and would miss them if I wasn't with her on Thanksgiving or Christmas. This year, once again, we are not going to be celebrating Thanksgiving together, so I figured it was time to establish a recipe of my own.


My recipe takes the basic idea from my aunt but adds an extra punch of flavor from some toasted garlic. These will be sure to impress at your next get together!


Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Serves: 8-10


Recipe

1 lb. green beans

3-4 cloves garlic

1 tsp. red chili flakes

Olive Oil

2 tbsp. water

1 tsp. sesame oil

Sesame Seeds, for garnish

Salt, to taste


To prepare the green beans, cut of a bit from both ends. Slice the cloves of garlic very thinly.


In a skillet on medium-high heat, add in some olive oil and let it heat up. Once the oil is hot, add in the garlic and chili flakes. Toast the garlic until it's golden brown and then remove from the pan. Set aside. In the same pan, add in the green beans and season with salt. Add in water and cover to let the beans steam, about five minutes.


When the green beans are cooked through, pour in the sesame oil and the toasted garlic. Stir to combine, plate and then top with sesame seeds. Enjoy!





Comments


Comments (2)

Guest
Jan 19

You know my address.

Like

Guest
Apr 20, 2023

Sounds yummy! I can't wait to try them.

Like
bottom of page