top of page

My Favorite Sandwich Bread


Everyone loves bread. Especially homemade bread, fresh out of the oven with butter and jam. I've spent YEARS searching through Pinterest and all over the internet for sandwich bread that is exactly what I want. I found one that was really close, but just a bit too sweet. I found another that was closer but lacking a bit on flavor. This is a combination of those two recipes, with a bit of my own spin on it. It is my favorite bread that I make every week. My family loves it, it's budget friendly, and I know everything that's in it! Yay! Make this bread, it just may become your favorite, too.




Serves: One Loaf

Total Time: 2-3 hours


Recipe:

1 1/4 cups warm water

1/2 tbsp. active dry yeast

3 tbsp. sugar

3 cups flour

1 tsp. salt

2 tbsp. oil



  1. Combine the warm water, yeast and sugar in a bowl. Let rest until foamy, about 5 minutes.

  2. You can mix this in a stand mixer or by hand, either way. Add in the flour, salt and oil to the yeast mixture and knead for about 5-10 minutes, until it's a smooth dough. Add in a bit more flour if it's too sticky to handle.

  3. Shape the dough into a ball and place in an oiled bowl. Cover and let rise in a warm spot for an hour, or until doubled in size.

  4. Once the hour is up, punch down your dough and place on the counter. Flatten it a bit and then fold in thirds, like a letter.

  5. Pinch the sides and ends to form a smooth loaf. Place into a greased or parchment-lined loaf pan, cover and let rise another 30-60 minutes.

  6. When there is about 15 minutes left on the second proof, preheat your oven to 350.

  7. Bake your bread for 25-30 minutes, until perfectly golden brown.

  8. Once it's out of the oven, brush the top with butter and sprinkle kosher salt on top. Let cool completely and enjoy!



Opmerkingen


Comments (2)

Guest
Jan 19

You know my address.

Like

Guest
Apr 20, 2023

Sounds yummy! I can't wait to try them.

Like
bottom of page